Bertollini & O’Reilly
(212) 566-3572
Practice Areas Cases we Handle
International Business Litigation
International Family Law
Internet Law
Read our blog.
Contact Us Today
Please Select

New York Appeals Lawyers

Appeal your Civil or Criminal case in New York

The Appellate Division hears appeals from the New York Supreme Court, which is the Court of general jurisdiction in New York. It also hears appeals from other special courts, such as the Surrogate's Court, Family Court, County Court, and Court of Claims.

There are four Appellate Divisions of the Supreme Court, one in each of the State's four Judicial Departments.

The First Department covers the Bronx and Manhattan; the Second Department covers Queens, Brooklyn, Staten Island, Long Island and Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland and Westchester counties; the Third Department includes an area extending from the territory of the Second Department north to New York's borders with Vermont and Quebec, and includes the cities of Albany, Troy, Schenectady, Saratoga Springs, and Binghamton; the Fourth Department covers the remainder of the state, and includes the cities of Buffalo, Rochester, and Syracuse.

The Appeal process starts with the filing of a Notice of Appeal. A notice of appeal must be filed and served within 30 days after the appellant is served with a copy of the order, judgment, or decree.

If you want to appeal your civil or criminal case, you have to speak to a New York Appellate Attorney as soon as your case is decided, because filing an appeal requires a considerable amount of hours of work.

At Bertollini & O'Reilly, a New York Litigation Law Firm, we will review your case and advise you whether there are grounds for reversal by the Appellate Division.

For an initial free assessment of your case, please contact us to set up an appointment in our office, located in New York City, just a few blocks from the NY Supreme Court.

(212) 566-3572